If you are arrested, it is extremely important to find someone qualified to represent you. Spending some time to research and interview your potential attorney is a great idea. Many attorneys spend money to market themselves but they may not be the right choice for you. Here are a few suggestions: Accept a free consult […]
10/20/Life penalties in the state of Florida typically deals with enhanced sentencing for people using firearms during the commission of a crime. In general: Under the “10-20-life” law, courts must impose a: 1. 10-year prison sentence on anyone convicted of committing or attempting to commit specific* felonies (with certain exceptions), while armed with a firearm […]
If you are in an accident in the state of Florida what must you do? Do you have to stop? If someone is injured, must you render aid? Florida Statute Section 316.061 tells us that if you are in an accident where there is property damage, you DO have to immediately stop at the location […]
What is the new Criminal Justice reform called the First Step Act? Some things to know: Why is reform necessary: The US has more people in prison than any other country in the world. Will this new law significantly reduce prison populations? No FACTS: The Criminal Justice reform includes: -it is a bill that received […]
Welcome to our new website! This site has been professionally designed to be responsive and mobile friendly, so it looks great and is accessible no matter what type or size of device you are using. Our new website also has an integrated Client Portal, meaning you are able to access your case documents, correspondence, and […]
The Florida Family law specifically do not make a designation of “custody” of a child; rather the courts require a parenting plan that sets forth each parent’s responsibility for making major decisions affecting the children and a time-sharing schedule detailing when the children will spend time with each parent. The court can order sole parental […]
In most jurisdictions, mediation is mandatory before the court will proceed to trial. If it is not mandatory, your attorney can file a motion to request the judge order mediation.
Florida judges must wait 21 days from date the divorce is filed to enter a final judgment.
Discovery is part of your divorce process in which the attorneys attempt to learn as much about the facts of your case as possible. Through a variety of methods, both lawyers will request information from you, your spouse, and potential witnesses in your case. Both you and your spouse are required to complete Financial Affidavits […]
We can now handle Petitions for Grandparent Visitation. Under Florida Law Grandparents can now petition for visitation of a minor child whose parents are deceased, missing, or in a persistent vegetative state, or whose one parent is deceased, missing, or in a persistent vegetative state and whose other parent has been convicted of a felony or […]